EMC – Emergency Medical Condition – Personal injury benefits can be suspended at $2500 if an Emergency Medical Condition (EMC) is not declared by a qualified provider.

Here is the quote from the Statute:

Reimbursement for services and care provided in subparagraph 1. or subparagraph 2. up to $10,000 if a physician licensed under chapter 458 or chapter 459, a dentist licensed under chapter 466, a physician assistant licensed under chapter 458 or chapter 459, or an advanced practice registered nurse licensed under chapter 464 has determined that the injured person had an emergency medical condition.

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&URL=0600-0699/0627/Sections/0627.736.html

Furthermore, in order to ensure the EMC is accepted by the payor it is suggested to have the following wording in the EMC soap notes:

“It is my professional medical opinion that the patient suffered an EMERGENCY MEDICAL CONDITION per
Florida state law HB119. The basis of this opinion for the finding of an EMERGENCY MEDICAL
CONDITION is that the patient has sustained acute symptoms of sufficient severity, which may include severe
pain, such that the absence of immediate medical attention could reasonably be expected to result in any of the
following: a) serious jeopardy to patient health; b) serious impairment to bodily functions; or c) serious
dysfunction of a bodily organ or part.”

Ideally a provider will make sure the proper documentation is in place if an EMC has been declared.

#FloridaPIP#PersonalInjuryBilling#insurance#claims#personalinjury#healthcare#FLPIPIdeals

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *